GC Golf Croquet

The Tournament is an open one-day Golf Croquet C-Class Level Play Singles competition staged at Watford, as one of the tournaments in the Croquet Association fixtures calendar. It is part of the national GC C-Level (7+) series.

Open GC C-Level Tournament
results by year:

Title: Open GC C-Level (7+) Series Tournament
Handicaps: GC: 7+
Date: Friday 28 April
Capacity: 16
Manager: Jason Carley
Secretary: Eddie Chung
Email: click on link to send an email
Phone: 07806 639257
Address: please ask, or log in and obtain it from the CA member's directory
Entries: Allocation: 31 March
Closing: 21 April
Those who wish to enter and pay online may do so through the CA website in same way as entering a CA Tournament. Alternatively, postal entries should be submitted together with entry fee using the standard CA Tournament entry form.
Entry fee: £12 (all entrants).
Pay online (see above) or by cheque to the secretary, payable to "Watford (Cassiobury) Croquet Club".
Format: AMD, provisionally the standard Series format if full capacity.

Exceptions and additions to the standard CA tournament regulations:

  1. Players must be prepared to play five or more games.
  2. This tournament forms part of the National GC C-Level (7+) Series.
  3. Tea, soft drinks and biscuits are provided free of charge, but please bring your own lunch.
  4. Details of parking and other arrangements will be sent to participants before the event.


With some unexpected rain the morning session had three groups with clear winners and runners up. In the remaining group 3 players were tied on just one win with Carol Huntington progressing on net hoops.

After the first knockout session in the afternoon none of the top 6 seeds contested the semi-finals, in which Carol beat Georgie Jones - a late stand-in (who ended up losing only one game all day), and Mike Grossmith beat Helen Essa playing in her first tournament.

In the Final Carol took a 5-2 lead, but Mike rallied back to get 6-5 up. Having run hoop 11 his ball had finished in front of hoop 12 but Carol put a ball full length into the jaws. Mike could have attempted the jump but settled for being first up to the golden hoop, though put his first ball short of 13. After a tussle, Carol had first shot hitting the hoop from a yard at an angle but Mike made no mistake with a straight shot from a similar distance to win it.

Jane Probitts won the Plate, also contesting her first tournament.

Report by Jason Carley


Block A
Results vs.: AD HC JS JP WINS NET
Anne Dennis   6-7 7-5 7-5 2 +3
Hilary Cowley 7-6   3-7 7-5 2 -1
John Suckling 5-7 7-3   5-7 1 0
Jane Probitts 5-7 5-7 7-5   1 -2
Block B
Results vs.: KW MG RR GB WINS NET
Kevin Ward   7-5 7-3 7-4 3 +9
Mike Grossmith 5-7   7-5 7-5 2 +2
Ruth Raunkiaer 3-7 5-7   7-2 1 -1
Gillian Baverstock 4-7 5-7 2-7   0 -10
Block C
Results vs.: RH CH RE ŞK WINS NET
Ron Hibbs   7-4 7-5 7-1 3 +11
Carol Huntington 4-7   6-7 7-0 1 +3
Rob Eagle 5-7 7-6   6-7 1 -2
Şebnem Kaya 1-7 0-7 7-6   1 -12
Block D
Results vs.: GJ HE MB KC WINS NET
Georgie Jones   7-5 7-6 7-6 3 +4
Helen Essa 5-7   7-3 7-6 2 +3
Mark Baverstock 6-7 3-7   7-6 1 -4
Kevin Currie 6-7 6-7 6-7   0 -3


Block A Winner
Anne Dennis
Helen Essa
Mike Grossmith
Mike Grossmith
Block D Runner-up
Helen Essa
Block C Winner
Ron Hibbs
Mike Grossmith
Block B Runner-up
Mike Grossmith
Block C Runner-up
Carol Huntington
Carol Huntington
Carol Huntington
Block B Winner
Kevin Ward
Block A Runner-up
Hilary Cowley
Georgie Jones
Block D Winner
Georgie Jones
Georgie Jones
5th-8th PLACES 5th-6th PLACES 5th PLACE
Anne Dennis Anne Dennis
Kevin Ward
Ron Hibbs
Kevin Ward Kevin Ward
Hilary Cowley
7th-8th PLACES 7th PLACE
Ron Hibbs Ron Hibbs
Hilary Cowley

Winner Mike Grossmith
Name Club H'cap
Kevin Ward Phyllis Court 7
Ron Hibbs Watford 7
Anne Dennis Watford 8
Kevin Currie Watford 8
Mike Grossmith Watford 9
Rob Eagle Phyllis Court 10
Jane Probitts Caversham 11
Ruth Raunkiaer Phyllis Court 11
Carol Huntington Phyllis Court 11
Georgie Jones Watford 11
John Suckling Watford 12
Şebnem Kaya Watford 12
Mark Baverstock Leicester 12
Gillian Baverstock Leicester 14
Helen Essa Phyllis Court 14
Hilary Cowley Phyllis Court 16