AC Association Croquet

This Tournament is an informal one-day Association Croquet singles competition held at Watford. It is primarily for club members and is not in the CA calendar, but there may be a few players invited from other nearby clubs in order to make the numbers up.

AC One-Day Tournament
results by year:

Title: Late Summer One-Day AC Tournament
Handicaps: AC: any
Capacity: 16
Date: Saturday 9 September 2023
Entries: Non-members may be invited from 4 weeks before the tournament to make up numbers.
Entry fee: £5 (cash on the day)
Manager: Geoff Johnson
Format: Swiss, 4 rounds
18-point games (variant 51.2.3 in the Laws book, 7th edition), 2-hour time-limit per game.
Mixed formats: Level Advanced, Handicap Advanced or simple Handicap, with the higher handicap player choosing in each game.


  1. Play starts at 09:30, and entrants should expect to play until 6pm.
  2. Tea, soft drinks and biscuits are provided free of charge, but please bring your own lunch.
  3. Winner: the player with the most wins. Tie-breakers, in order:
    1. Wins vs. those tied if they have all played each other, otherwise 'matchpoints' (see the CA tournament regulations).
    2. Net index point gain (so wins played level against a stronger opponent count for more than handicap wins).
    3. "Quality of wins" (i.e. number of wins scored by defeated opponents).
    4. Wins within time.
  4. There will also be a consolation prize for the player, other than the winner, with the largest net index point gain.
  5. Whites are optional (but the manager thinks they look nice).


Results vs.: JB RBo GB JS GJ RBa DF SCORE
James Brind     +3 +10 +11   +11 4-0 100% - 1.41 +30
Roger Bowman     -3 +2T     +8 2-1 67% - 0.58 +10
Gary Bennett -3 +3   -5   +7   2-2 50% - 1.00 +4
John Smallbone -10 -2T +5         1-2 33% 3 0.50 -10
Geoff Johnson -11         -6 +4T 1-2 33% 2 0.25 -4
Robin Barry     -7   +6   -7 1-2 33% 1 0.33 -10
David Frost -11 -8     -4T +7   1-3 25% - 0.33 -20
Handicap Level Advanced Handicap Advanced
James Brind
Name Club H'cap
James Brind Newport 0
Gary Bennett Watford 2
Geoff Johnson Watford 3
John Smallbone Watford
David Frost Enfield
Roger Bowman Watford 8
Robin Barry Watford 12