AC Association Croquet

National The Mary Rose is a national inter-club team croquet competition that is run each year in England and Wales by the Croquet Association. Club teams comprise 4 players who must each have handicaps of at least 0, and with their aggregate handicap being at least 4. It is a knock-out competition played to Level Advanced rules, with the earlier rounds drawn on a regional basis to minimise travel times.

Fixtures contact: Simon Hathrell

This year is Watford's fifth year in the competition, having won it in 2017 and been runners-up in 2018.

Following the Covid-19 pandemic, Watford is participating this year in a revised, smaller competition.

Mary Rose match results by year:

All games: = Level Advanced
Date Opponents Venue Results (Watford names first)
Wed 29 Jul
(10:00 start)
Pinchbeck Home

WON 4-1

(Net index points: +8)
Brian Havill (½) &
Alan Clark (1)
beat Bob Thompson (2) &
Paul Hetherington (3½)
Nick Archer (2) beat Mike Bowser (3) +17
Brian Havill (½) beat Bob Thompson (2) +15
Alan Clark (1) lost to Mike Bowser (3) -4
Nick Archer (2) beat Paul Hetherington (3½) +5

Handicap change: Mike Bowser 3 to 2½
Wed 2 Sep
(10:00 start)
Nottingham Home

LOST 1-4

(Net index points: -28)
Brian Havill (½) &
Alan Clark (1)
lost to Dave Gunn (1) &
Ian Draper (1½)
Nick Archer (2) beat Sophie McGlen (3½) +17
Geoff Johnson (3) lost to Mike Hedge (3½) -21
Nick Archer (2) lost to Mike Hedge (3½) -5
Geoff Johnson (3) lost to Sophie McGlen (3½) -10

Handicap change: Mike Hedge 3½ to 3

Statistics (Watford players)
Name Singles
Nick Archer3-10-03-1
Brian Havill1-01-12-1
Alan Clark0-11-11-2
Geoff Johnson0-20-00-2

The full knock-out table for this year's results and an archive of the results back to 1989 for all clubs are maintained by the Croquet Association.

See also: