In addition to Club days and casual games between club members, there are various activities including coaching, internal club competitions, and matches against other clubs.

Further events will be added to the Calendar from time to time during the course of the season.

In addition, on one weekend each month in winter indoor croquet at Soham
is available to club members. See the East Anglian Croquet Federation
website for details.

2021 CALENDAR

All events
Home court events
Calendars by year:

Date show hide Show/hide all Type Event / Opponents Venue / Result
hide JANUARY - MARCH
Wed 24 February   Annual club dinner Cancelled
Thu 4 March (19:30)   AGM Video conference
Mon 29 March   Courts open for play for the summer season  
hide APRIL
Tue 27 April (09:30) GCTournament Open GC C-Level Tournament Winner: Kevin Connolly
Wed 28 April (11:00) ACTournament AC Charity One-Ball Tournament Winner: John Smallbone
hide MAY
Mon 3 May (09:30) GCTournament Open GC B-Level Tournament Winner: Glynis Davies
Sat 8 May GCLeague Enfield (Level Open) Home   Postponed
Mon 10 May GCLeague Stony Stratford (Handicap) Home
Mon 17 May GCLeague Leighton Linslade (B-Level) Home
Wed 19 - Thu 20 May (09:30) ACTournament Open AC Midweek Advanced Tournament  
Wed 26 May ACLeague Enfield Home
hide JUNE
Wed 2 June (10:00) ACNational Newport Home
Sat 12 June (09:30) ACTournament Open AC One-Day Tournament  
Mon 28 June (14:00)   Pavilion opening ceremony  
Tue 29 June (09:30) GCTournament Open GC A-level Tournament  
hide JULY
Mon 5 July GC4-club GC 4-Club Trophy Wrest Park
Thu 22 - Mon 26 July ACFriendly AC Tour Away
Mon 26 July GC4-club GC 4-Club Trophy Leighton Linslade
Sat 31 July - Sun 1 August (09:30) GCTournament National GC Under 25s Open Championship  
hide AUGUST
Wed 4 - Thu 5 August (09:30) ACTournament Open AC Midweek B-Level Advanced Tournament  
Thu 12 August GC4-club GC 4-Club Trophy  
Sat 28 August (09:30) ACTournament AC One-Day Doubles Tournament  
Tue 31 August GC4-club GC 4-Club Trophy Wrest Park
hide SEPTEMBER
Sun 5 September GCTournament National GC Grass Roots finals  
Sat 11 September (09:30) ACTournament AC One-Day Tournament  
hide OCTOBER - DECEMBER
Sat 2 - Sat 2 October ACLeague AC Regional league play-off  
Sat 9 - Sun 10 October
(provisional)
ACGCTournament National Schools & Juniors Championships  
hide 2022 CALENDAR YEAR
Sat 17 - Sun 18 September ACTournament AC All England Handicap Championship Final  
Key to symbols:
AC Association Croquet League League match Friendly Friendly match Tournament Tournament
GC Golf Croquet League League Regional finals National National club competition 4Club 4-Club Tournament

10:00am start for matches and 9:30am start for tournaments unless otherwise indicated.


See also the Croquet Association Fixtures Calendar and the East Anglian Croquet Federation Diary.

 

CLUB DAYS

Except when there are Covid-19 playing restrictions or when it clashes with the event calendar above, Club members can meet each week during the playing season without booking as follows:

Mondays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Tuesdays GC Golf Croquet from 11:00
Wednesdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Thursdays   Court mowing and maintenance until 14:30, except when occasionally used for for some club matches
Fridays GC Golf Croquet from 09:45
Saturdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Sundays GC Golf Croquet from 12:00

Two of the club's four courts are allocated to the regular sessions listed above; the other two courts can be used for either Association or Golf Croquet on any day and at any time (except on occasions when allocated to a club match or tournament), and can be booked in advance by members using the online Court Booking System.

Club members who turn up at the lawns on one of these occasions can usually expect to get a game. At other times it is generally advisable to plan a specific game with another club member in advance, and to book a court. Members' contact details can be found in the Members Area of this website after logging in.

In addition, non-members are welcome to visit a club session for free to try croquet before being asked to join. Just turn up and speak to a member. Equipment will be provided by the club. All we ask is that you wear flat-soled shoes.

Covid-19 restrictions: while these apply there are NO general club sessions. Instead the number allowed on each court is limited in accordance with the restrictions applicable at the time, and booking a court in advance is mandatory at all times.

COACHING

ACGC There are no formal coaching courses yet planned, but if you are interested in any ad hoc coaching please contact us.

In addition to any more formal courses that might be arranged, free informal coaching for both Association and Golf Croquet is generally offered by the more experienced players on club days on an ad hoc basis to both existing club members and prospective new members.