The Grass Roots
Golf Croquet Cup

Click for enlargement

GC Golf Croquet

The Club runs a preliminary tournament for the Grass Roots Golf Croquet Competition which is open to beginners without a handicap and high handicappers with a (new) golf croquet handicap of 9 and over. The competition is played as a series of 13-point doubles games with a change of partners after each game. The top four players play a singles semi-final and final and a number of players depending on the size of entry go forward to a regional final. The entry fee of £5 is paid by the Club. 

This national competition has been won by a Watford player twice in the last three years - John Walker in 2005 and Nick Archer in 2007.

The 2008 tournament was held in two blocks, on Tuesday 10th and Friday 13th June respectively.


Block 1
Winner Anne Dennis
Runner up Terry Menkens
3rd Geoff Johnson
4th Adrian Lepper

Block 2
Winner Alan Wilkie
Runner up Hazel Archer
3rd Robert Archer
4th Airlie Middleton

GC Grass Roots Tournament
by year: