AC Association Croquet

National The Secretary's Shield is a national knock-out competition between the winners of the regional leagues in the previous year. Watford enters the Secretary's Shield in 2008 as a result of winning the Beds & Herts league and the East Anglian Croquet Federation trophy in 2007. This is Watford's third year in the Secretary's Shield. In 2007 we lost in the Quarter-finals to Nottingham (after a bye in the first round), and in 2006 we lost in the first round to Woodhall Spa.

Fixtures contact: Simon Hathrell

Secretary's Shield match results by year:

All games: H 26pt Handicap
Date Opponents Venue Results (Watford names first)
Round 1
Thu 22 May
(10:30 start)
Huddersfield Nottingham

WON 7-0

(Net index points: +60)
Arthur Reed (2½) &
Peter Chadwick (18)
beat Trevor Billard (6) &
Marjorie Eldon (12)
Simon Hathrell (½) beat Malcolm Daines (7) +7T
Mark Homan (4) beat Anna Giraud (14) +6T
Simon Hathrell (½) beat Trevor Billard (6) +18
Arthur Reed (2½) beat Malcolm Daines (7) +14
Mark Homan (4) beat Marjorie Eldon (12) +11
Peter Chadwick (18) beat Anna Giraud (14) +18
Mon 30 Jun
(10:30 start)
High Wycombe Surbiton

LOST 3-4

(Net index points: -20)
Simon Hathrell (0) &
Robin Barry (20)
beat Geoff Youd (10) &
Michael Bowker (14)
Mark Homan (3½) lost to Giles Thorman (11) -10
Peter Chadwick (18) lost to David Bourne (4½) -9
Simon Hathrell (0) beat David Bourne (4½) +1
Mark Homan (3½) lost to Geoff Youd (10) -5T
Peter Chadwick (18) lost to Giles Thorman (11) -4
Robin Barry (20) beat Michael Bowker (14) +1T

Statistics (Watford players)
Name Singles
Simon Hathrell3-01-04-0
Arthur Reed1-01-02-0
Robin Barry1-01-02-0
Mark Homan2-20-02-2
Peter Chadwick1-21-02-2

The full set of results can be found on the CA website.