AC Association Croquet

National The Secretary's Shield is a national knock-out competition between the winners of the regional leagues in the previous year. Watford enters the Secretary's Shield in 2018 as a result of winning the Beds & Herts league and the East Anglian Croquet Federation trophy in 2017. The last time Watford played in the Secretary's Shield was in 2008.

Fixtures contact: Simon Hathrell

Secretary's Shield match results by year:

All games: H 26pt Handicap
Date Opponents Venue Results (Watford names first)
Round 1
Wed 30 May
High Wycombe Home

WON 5-2

(Net index points: +20)
Alan Clark (1) &
Nick Archer (2)
beat Mike Porter (1½) &
Keith Pound (5)
John Smallbone (4½) beat Geoff Youd (14) +7
Adam Huby (8) beat Richard Peperell (7) +2T
Alan Clark (1) lost to Mike Porter (1½) -19
Nick Archer (2) lost to Keith Pound (5) -5
John Smallbone (4½) beat Richard Peperell (7) +9T
Adam Huby (8) beat Geoff Youd (14) +13T
Sat 21 Jul
(10:30 start)
Bath Home

LOST 3-4

(Net index points: 0)
Gary Bennett (0) &
John Bee (6)
lost to Paul Francis (4) &
David Prescott (8)
Jonathan Lambton (6) lost to Philip de Glanville (7) -13T
Adam Huby (8) beat Folke Pope (7) +6T
Gary Bennett (0) beat Paul Francis (4) +12
John Bee (6) beat Philip de Glanville (7) +10
Jonathan Lambton (6) lost to Folke Pope (7) -1T
Adam Huby (8) lost to David Prescott (8) -18T

Statistics (Watford players)
Name Singles
Adam Huby3-10-03-1
John Smallbone2-00-02-0
Gary Bennett1-00-11-1
John Bee1-00-11-1
Alan Clark0-11-01-1
Nick Archer0-11-01-1
Jonathan Lambton0-20-00-2

The full set of results can be found on the CA website.

See also: