AC Association Croquet

National The Longman Cup is a national inter-club croquet tournament that is run each year in England and Wales. Club teams comprise 4 players who must each have handicaps between 3.5 and 20, and with their aggregate handicap being at least 24. It is a knock-out competition within each region, played with handicaps, with the regional winners progressing to the national semi-finals and final at the end of the season.

Note that the Trial AC Handicap Doubles Variation to Law 43(a) is applicable to the doubles handicaps in all Longman Cup matches in 2013. A handy lookup table can be used to facilitate this calculation.

Fixtures contact: Simon Hathrell

Watford has done quite well in this event over the years. We were national champions in 2001, national finalists in 2003 and 2012, and regional finalists in 2004 and 2005. In recent years:

Winning the Longman Cup in 2001

2012: we reached the national final, losing to Roehampton.

2011: we lost in the second round to Guildford & Goldalming.

2010: we reached the regional finals, losing to Parsons Green.

2009: we lost in the second round to Wrest Park.

2008: we lost in the second round to Colchester.

Longman Cup match results by year:

All games: H 26pt Handicap
Date Opponents Venue Results (Watford names first)
Preliminary round
Round 1
Wed 26 Jun
Parsons Green Away

WON 5-2

(Net index points: +40)
Mark Homan (6) &
Nick Archer (18)
lost to Andrew Rutland (12) &
Simon Barnford (20)
Geoff Johnson (8) beat John Ulring (20) +17
Robin Barry (10) beat Brent Taylor (20) +6
Mark Homan (6) lost to Andrew Rutland (12) -21
Geoff Johnson (8) beat Brent Taylor (20) +14T
Robin Barry (10) beat John Ulring (20) +13
Nick Archer (18) beat Simon Barnford (20) +23
Round 2
Sat 3 Aug
Colchester Home

WON 5-2

(Net index points: +20)
John Smallbone (4) &
Nick Archer (18)
beat David Haslam (11) &
John Andrews (12)
Geoff Johnson (7) lost to Jeff Farrington (5) -5
Peter Chadwick (16) lost to Georgeen Hemming (6) -1T
John Smallbone (4) beat Jeff Farrington (5) +6
Geoff Johnson (7) beat Georgeen Hemming (6) +6T
Peter Chadwick (16) beat David Haslam (11) +3T
Nick Archer (18) beat John Andrews (12) +26
Sun 8 Sep
Enfield Away

LOST 2-5

(Net index points: -20)
John Bee (6) &
Adam Huby (10)
lost to Brian Havill (8) &
John Street (11)
Alan Clark (6) lost to Tony Elliott (10) -26
Nick Archer (14) beat David Frost (10) +14
John Bee (6) lost to Brian Havill (8) -7T
Alan Clark (6) lost to David Frost (10) -11
Adam Huby (10) lost to Tony Elliott (10) -19
Nick Archer (14) beat John Street (11) +19

Statistics (Watford players)
Name Singles
Nick Archer4-01-15-1
Geoff Johnson3-10-03-1
Robin Barry2-00-02-0
John Smallbone1-01-02-0
Peter Chadwick1-10-01-1
Alan Clark0-20-00-2
Mark Homan0-10-10-2
John Bee0-10-10-2
Adam Huby0-10-10-2


The full knock-out table for this year's results and an archive of the results back to 1989 for all clubs are maintained by the Croquet Association.

See also: