AC Association Croquet

National The Longman Cup is a national inter-club croquet tournament that is run each year in England and Wales. Club teams comprise 4 players who must each have handicaps between 3.5 and 20, and with their aggregate handicap exceeding 24. It is a knock-out competition within each region, played with handicaps, with the regional winners progressing to the national semi-finals and final at the end of the season.

Fixtures contact: Simon Hathrell

Winning the Longman Cup in 2001

Watford has had a strong record in this event, having won it in 2001 and been losing national finalists in 2003. 

In 2004 the Club won the first two rounds and then lost to Colchester in the regional final.

In 2005 the Club again won the first two rounds, and then lost to Newport in the regional final.

Longman Cup match results by year:

All games: H 26pt Handicap
Date Opponents Venue Results (Watford names first)
Round 1
Sat 10 Jun
Roehampton Away

WON 5-2

(Net index points: +40)
John Bee (8) &
Bill Gillott (12)
lost to Brian Rees (4) &
Tony Salem (16)
John Smallbone (7) beat Peter Siddall (6) +4T
John Moore (16) beat Jean Oades (11) +14T
John Smallbone (7) beat Brian Rees (4) +22
John Bee (8) beat Peter Siddall (6) +10
Bill Gillott (12) beat Jean Oades (11) +8
John Moore (16) lost to Tony Salem (16) -10
Round 2
Sun 9 Jul
Norwich Home

LOST 3-4

(Net index points: 0)
Adam Huby (12) &
David Drazin (14)
lost to Neil Chalmers (6) &
Dan Neale (11)
Mark Homan (6) lost to Terrey Sparks (3½) -7
Quiller Barrett (7) lost to Feargal Smith (3½) -3
Mark Homan (6) beat Feargal Smith (3½) +23
Quiller Barrett (7) lost to Terrey Sparks (3½) -4
Adam Huby (12) beat Neil Chalmers (6) +4T
David Drazin (14) beat Dan Neale (11) +14

Statistics (Watford players)
Name Singles
John Smallbone2-00-02-0
John Moore1-10-01-1
Mark Homan1-10-01-1
John Bee1-00-11-1
Bill Gillott1-00-11-1
Adam Huby1-00-11-1
David Drazin1-00-11-1
Quiller Barrett0-20-00-2

The full knock-out table for this year's results and an archive of the results back to 1989 for all clubs are maintained by the Croquet Association.