AC Association Croquet

National The Mary Rose is a national inter-club team croquet competition that is run each year in England and Wales by the Croquet Association. Club teams comprise 4 players who must each have handicaps of at least 0, and with their aggregate handicap being at least 4. It is a knock-out competition played to Level Advanced rules, with the earlier rounds drawn on a regional basis to minimise travel times.

Fixtures contact: Simon Hathrell

This year is Watford's second year in the competition.

Mary Rose match results by year:

All games: = Level Advanced
Date Opponents Venue Results (Watford names first)
Round 1
Mon 3 Jul
Blewbury Home

WON 5-2

(Net index points: +32)
Gary Bennett (1) &
Alan Clark (1)
lost to Joe King (0) &
Avril Rangoni-Machiavelli (3)
Arthur Reed (2) lost to Deirdre Cochrane (4) -1
Geoff Johnson (3) beat Paul Wolff (3) +22
Alan Clark (1) beat Avril Rangoni-Machiavelli (3) +16
Gary Bennett (1) beat Joe King (0) +17
Arthur Reed (2) beat Paul Wolff (3) +21
Geoff Johnson (3) beat Deirdre Cochrane (4) +11
Wed 19 Jul
Bristol Away

WON 4-1

(Net index points: +3)
Brian Havill (1) &
Gary Bennett (1)
beat Bob Scott (3) &
Richard Williamson (3)
Alan Clark (1) beat Frances Ransom (4) +11
Geoff Johnson (3) beat Eric Soakell (4) +2
Brian Havill (1) vs. Bob Scott (3) unfinished
Alan Clark (1) beat Eric Soakell (4) +14
Gary Bennett (1) lost to Richard Williamson (3) -5
Geoff Johnson (3) vs. Frances Ransom (4) unfinished
Fri 15 Sep
Roehampton Home  

Statistics (Watford players)
Name Singles
Geoff Johnson3-00-03-0
Alan Clark3-00-13-1
Brian Havill0-01-01-0
Gary Bennett1-11-12-2
Arthur Reed1-10-01-1


The full knock-out table for this year's results and an archive of the results back to 1989 for all clubs are maintained by the Croquet Association.

See also: