In addition to Club days and casual games between club members, there are various activities including coaching, internal club competitions, and matches against other clubs.

Further events will be added to the Calendar from time to time during the course of the season.

2017 CALENDAR

printer-friendly version Calendars by year:

Date show hide Show/hide all Type Event / Opponents Venue / Result
hide JANUARY - MARCH
Wed 22 February (19:00)   Annual club dinner Blue Check Restaurant, 144-146 High St., Bushey, WD23 3DH
Thu 9 March (19:30)   AGM Methodist Church Hall, New Road, Croxley Green, WD3 3EL
hide APRIL
Sat 1 April   Courts reopen for the summer season  
Thu 6 April (09:45) GC GC Improvers Course  
Fri 7 April (10:00) GC GC coaching course  
Thu 13 April GCFriendly Leighton Linslade Home   LOST 7-9
Fri 14 April (10:00) GC GC coaching course  
Thu 20 April ACTournament AC One-Ball Tournament Winner: Nick Archer
Fri 21 April (10:00) GC GC coaching course  
Sun 23 April ACFriendly Oxford University Away   LOST 2-4
Wed 26 April ACLeague Northampton Home   WON 5-1
hide MAY
Fri 5 May GCNational Letchworth Away   LOST 1-6
Sat 6 May GCNational Hurlingham Away   WON 5-2
Mon 8 May GCTournament Watford Open GC B-Level Tournament Winner: Arthur Reed
Tue 9 May (10:00) GCTournament GC C-Class Tournament Winner: John Suckling
Mon 15 May ACLeague Enfield Away   WON 4-2
Thu 18 May ACNational Wrest Park Home   LOST 2-5
Thu 25 May GCTournament GC 4 Club Trophy  
Mon 29 May GCNational Leighton Linslade Away   WON 4-3
Wed 31 May ACFriendly Cambridge University Home   LOST 3-6
hide JUNE
Thu 1 June GCLeague Chelmsford Home   WON 12-6
Sat 3 June ACLeague Wrest Park Home   LOST 2-4
Thu 8 June GCFriendly High Wycombe Home
Sat 10 June ACTournament Watford Open One-Day AC Tournament Winners: Bryan Harral,
John Bee
Fri 16 June-Sun 18 June GCFriendly GC Tour Away
Thu 22 June GCLeague Leighton Linslade (Handicap) Home   LOST 8-10
Wed 28 June ACFriendly Uruguay Home   LOST 1-2
Thu 29 June ACLeague Letchworth Away   WON 4-2
Thu 29 June GCLeague Northampton Hoops (Handicap) Home   WON 13-5
Fri 30 June GCLeague Northampton Mallets (Handicap) Away   LOST 6-12
hide JULY
Sat 1 July (10:30) ACGC Cassiobury Bowls club match Cancelled
Mon 3 July ACNational Blewbury Home   WON 5-2
Thu 6 July GCLeague Letchworth Home   WON 10-8
Wed 12 July GCNational Camerton & Peasedown Away   WON 4-2
Wed 12 July (18:30) GC Private event  
Wed 19 July ACNational Bristol Away   WON 4-1
Thu 20 July ACLeague St. Albans Home   WON 5-1
Fri 21 July GCLeague Stony Stratford (Handicap) Away   LOST 3-7
Tue 25 July GCFriendly High Wycombe Away   WON 11-2
Thu 27 July-Wed 2 August ACFriendly AC South West Tour
Away Matches:W:1, D:3, L:3
Games:W:28, L:30
Thu 27 July GCLeague Wrest Park (Handicap) Home   WON 10-8
Mon 31 July GCFriendly Leighton Linslade Away   WON 10-6
hide AUGUST
Sat 12 August ACLeague Melgrave Away   WON 3-1
Mon 14 August GCLeague Enfield Away   LOST 8-10
Fri 18 August GCLeague Leighton Linslade Away   WON 14-4
Sat 19 August ACFriendly Oxford University Home
Sun 20 August (14:00) Tournament Gymkhana Cancelled
Mon 21 August GCNational Guildford & Godalming Home
Tue 22 August GCLeague Northampton Home
Sat 26 August ACFriendly High Wycombe Away
hide SEPTEMBER
Sat 9 September ACTournament AC One-Day Tournament  
Fri 15 September ACNational Roehampton Home
hide OCTOBER - DECEMBER
October (provisional)   End of summer season and courts closed  
Sun 1 October ACLeague AC Regional league play-off Hunstanton
hide 2018 CALENDAR YEAR
Sat 13 January (19:00)   Quiz Night Herts Bowling Club, Bellmount Wood Avenue, Watford, Herts, WD17 3BT
Wed 21 February (19:00)   Annual club dinner Blue Check Restaurant, 144-146 High St., Bushey, WD23 3DH
Key to symbols:
AC Association Croquet League League match Friendly Friendly match Tournament Tournament
GC Golf Croquet League League Regional finals National National club competition    

10:00am start for matches and 9:30am start for tournaments unless otherwise indicated.


See also the Croquet Association Fixtures Calendar and the East Anglian Croquet Federation Diary.

 

CLUB DAYS

Apart from when it clashes with the event calendar above, Club members meet each week during the playing season as follows. Club members who turn up at the lawns on one of these occasions can usually expect to get a game. At other times it is generally advisable to plan a specific game with another club member in advance. A list of members' contact details is posted inside the club hut.

Mondays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Tuesdays GC Golf Croquet from 11:00
Wednesdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Thursdays
AC
court maintenance
Association Croquet from 16:00 (summer only)
Fridays GC Golf Croquet from 09:45
Saturdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Sundays GC Golf Croquet from 12:00

In addition, non-members are welcome to visit for free in up to three club sessions to try it out before being asked to join. Just turn up and speak to a member. Equipment will be provided by the club. All we ask is that you wear flat-soled shoes.

COACHING

AC There are no formal Association Croquet coaching courses planned this year, but if you are interested in any ad hoc coaching please contact us.

GC An Introduction to Golf Croquet course for 2017 will be held on Fridays 7, 14 and 21 April from 10:00 - 12:00. If you are interested in this course please contact us. There is a fee of 15 which is deductible from this year's membership fee if you join the club.

In addition to any more formal courses, free informal coaching for both Association and Golf Croquet is generally offered by the more experienced players on club days on an ad hoc basis to both existing club members and prospective new members.