In addition to Club days and casual games between club members, there are various activities including coaching, internal club competitions, and matches against other clubs.


2016 CALENDAR

printer-friendly version Calendars by year:

Date show hide Show/hide all Type Event / Opponents Venue / Result
hide JANUARY - MARCH
Wed 10 February (19:00)   Annual club dinner Blue Check Restaurant, 144-146 High St., Bushey, WD23 3DH
Mon 29 February   All courts close for maintenance  
Mon 7 March (19:30)   AGM Methodist Church Hall, New Road, Croxley Green, WD3 3EL
hide APRIL
Sat 9 April   Courts reopen for the summer season  
Thu 14 April (11:00) ACTournament AC One-Ball Tournament Winner: Robin Barry
Sun 17 April ACFriendly High Wycombe Away   LOST 2½-5½
Sat 23 April ACFriendly Oxford University Away   LOST 3-5
Wed 27 April GCLeague Wrest Park (Handicap) Away   WON 12-6
hide MAY
Sun 1 May GCNational Dulwich Away   LOST 1½-5½
Sat 7 May-Sun 8 May GCFriendly GC Tour Away
Mon 9 May (09:30) GCTournament Open GC B-Level Tournament Winner: Arthur Reed
Tue 10 May (09:30) GCTournament GC C-Class Tournament Winner: Veronica FitzGerald
Wed 11 May ACLeague Northampton Away   LOST 2-4
Mon 23 May ACLeague Enfield Home   WON 6-0
Thu 26 May GCFriendly Leighton Linslade Home
Fri 27 May GCLeague Chelmsford Away   DREW 9-9
Mon 30 May GCNational Merton Home   LOST 1-6
hide JUNE
Wed 1 June ACNational Letchworth Away   LOST 3-4
Wed 1 June (18:30) GC Private event  
Sat 4 June (09:30) ACTournament Watford Open One-Day AC Tournament Winners: David Marsh,
Carole McLoughlin
Sun 5 June (14:00) ACGC Open Day  
Thu 9 June ACFriendly Cambridge University Home   WON 8-3
Fri 10 June ACNational Colchester Away   WON 4-3
Thu 16 June GCLeague Northampton Mallets (Handicap) Home   WON 14-4
Tue 21 June ACLeague Wrest Park Away   LOST 2-4
Thu 23 June GCLeague Leighton Linslade Home   DREW 9-9
Tue 28 June GCLeague Northampton Away   LOST 5-13
Thu 30 June GCLeague Northampton Hoops (Handicap) Away   WON 10-8
hide JULY
Mon 4 July ACNational Pinchbeck Wrest Park   LOST 2-4
Wed 6 July ACLeague Letchworth Home   WON 5-1
Thu 7 July GCLeague Stony Stratford (Handicap) Home   LOST 8-10
Sat 9 July GCLeague Letchworth Away   LOST 6-12
Thu 14 July GCLeague Enfield Home   LOST 8-10
Sun 17 July ACFriendly Roehampton Away   LOST 1-7
Sun 17 July GCFriendly Meldreth Away   WON 5-3
Thu 21 July-Wed 27 July ACFriendly AC South West Tour
Away Matches:W:2, D:1, L:4
Games:W:27, L:35
Thu 28 July GCFriendly Meldreth Home   DREW 9-9
Sat 30 July ACLeague St. Albans Away   DREW 2-2
hide AUGUST
Mon 1 August (09:00)   Courts maintenance survey  
Thu 4 August GCFriendly High Wycombe Home   WON 13-3
Fri 5 August GCLeague Leighton Linslade (Handicap) Away   WON 13-5
Fri 12 August GCFriendly Leighton Linslade Away
Sun 21 August (14:00) Tournament Gymkhana Winners: Jason Carley,
Adrian Lepper
hide SEPTEMBER
Thu 8 September ACLeague Melgrave Home   DREW 3-3
Sat 10 September ACTournament AC One-Day Tournament Winner: Jonathan Lambton
Sun 11 September GCLeague GC Handicap League play-off
(Watford hosting but not playing)
Watford
Tue 20 September GCFriendly High Wycombe Away
Sun 25 September (09:30) ACTournament National Schools & Juniors Tournament  
Mon 26 September   End of summer season and courts closed  
hide OCTOBER - DECEMBER
Sun 16 October (19:00)   Quiz night Herts Bowling Club, Bellmount Wood Avenue, Watford, Herts, WD17 3BT
Thu 17 November   Court 3 re-opened for winter play  
Key to symbols:
AC Association Croquet League League match Friendly Friendly match Tournament Tournament
GC Golf Croquet League League Regional finals National National club competition    

10:00am start for matches and 9:30am start for tournaments unless otherwise indicated.


See also the Croquet Association Fixtures Calendar and the East Anglian Croquet Federation Diary.

 

CLUB DAYS

Apart from when it clashes with the match calendar above, Club members meet each week during the playing season as follows. Club members who turn up at the lawns on one of these occasions can usually expect to get a game. At other times it is generally advisable to plan a specific game with another club member in advance. A list of members' contact details is posted inside the club hut.

Mondays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Tuesdays GC Golf Croquet from 11:00
Wednesdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Thursdays
AC
court maintenance
Association Croquet from 16:00 (summer only)
Fridays GC Golf Croquet from 09:45
Saturdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Sundays GC Golf Croquet from 12:00

 

COACHING

AC No details of any formal coaching courses currently available.

GC No details of any formal coaching courses currently available.

In addition to any more formal courses, free informal coaching for both Association and Golf Croquet is generally offered by the more experienced players on club days on an ad hoc basis to both existing club members and prospective new members.