In addition to Club days and casual games between club members, there are various activities including coaching, internal club competitions, and matches against other clubs.


2013 CALENDAR

printer-friendly version Calendars by year:

Date show hide Show/hide all Type Event / Opponents Venue / Result
hide JANUARY - MARCH
Thu 14 February (19:30)   Annual club dinner Metroplitan Police Sports Club, Aldenham Road, Bushey, WD23 2TR
Thu 21 February (19:30)   AGM Methodist Church Hall, New Road, Croxley Green, WD3 3EL
Fri 29 March   Watford courts opened for the 2013 season  
hide APRIL
Sat 6 April (12:45) AC AC coaching course (part 1)  
Sat 13 April ACLeague Letchworth Away   WON 6-0
Sat 13 April (12:45) AC AC coaching course (part 2)  
Sun 14 April ACGC Open Day  
Thu 18 April (11:00) ACTournament AC One-Ball Tournament Winner: Adrian Lepper
Sat 20 April (12:45) AC AC coaching course (part 3)  
Sat 27 April (12:45) AC AC coaching course (part 4)  
hide MAY
Sat 4 May (14:00) Tournament Gymkhana Winners: Steve Dennis,
Simon Hathrell
Wed 8 May-Fri 10 May GCFriendly GC Tour Away
Mon 13 May GCTournament Open GC B-Level Tournament Winner: Ian Cobbold
Sat 18 May ACLeague St. Albans Home   LOST 2-4
Mon 20 May GCNational Phyllis Court Away   WON 4-3
Thu 23 May GCFriendly Leighton Linslade Home   WON 11-5
Thu 30 May GCLeague Northampton Home   WON 10-8
hide JUNE
Sat 1 June ACFriendly Cambridge University Home   WON 6-2
Thu 6 June ACLeague Melgrave Away   LOST 0-4
Fri 7 June GCLeague Leighton Linslade 'Green' (Handicap) Away   WON 10-8
Sat 15 June (09:30) ACTournament Watford Open One-Day AC Tournament Winners: Gary Bennett,
Alan Clark
Tue 18 June GCTournament GC Grass Roots Tournament Winner: Hazel Archer
Wed 26 June ACNational Parsons Green Away   WON 5-2
Thu 27 June GCLeague Northampton (Handicap) Home   WON 11-7
hide JULY
Thu 4 July GCLeague Leighton Linslade 'Yellow' (Handicap) Home   WON 16-2
Wed 10 July GCLeague Stony Stratford (Handicap) Away   LOST 5-13
Sat 13 July ACLeague Northampton Home   WON 4-2
Mon 15 July GCNational Dulwich Away   WON 5-2
Wed 24 July ACLeague Enfield Away   LOST 2-4
Thu 25 July-Mon 29 July ACFriendly AC South West Tour
Away Matches:W:1, D:2, L:2
Games:W:19, L:25
Thu 25 July GCLeague Chelmsford Home   WON 15-3
hide AUGUST
Fri 2 August GCLeague Leighton Linslade Away   WON 14-4
Sat 3 August ACNational Colchester Home   WON 5-2
Mon 5 August GCFriendly Leighton Linslade Away   LOST 6-14
Mon 19 August GCLeague Enfield Away   WON 11-7
Wed 21 August GCNational Hamptworth Home   WON 4-3
Wed 28 August ACLeague Wrest Park Home   WON 5-1
Thu 29 August GCFriendly High Wycombe Home   WON 10-6
hide SEPTEMBER
Sun 1 September GCTournament Golf Croquet Fun Day  
Sun 8 September ACNational Enfield Away   LOST 2-5
Thu 12 September GCFriendly Enfield Home   LOST 4-12
Sat 14 September ACTournament AC One-Day Tournament Winner: Brian Havill
Tue 17 September GCLeague GC Handicap League play-off
(Semi-final vs. Ipswich)
Newport   LOST 9-10
Sun 29 September GCLeague GC Level Play League final
(Final vs. Colchester)
Newport   LOST 8-10
Mon 30 September (10:00) GC GC Coaching (until 1pm)  
hide OCTOBER - DECEMBER
Thu 3 October GCNational Nottingham Northampton   WON 4-3
Mon 21 October   Watford courts closed  
Thu 12 December   Watford court 3 re-opened for winter play  
Key to symbols:
AC Association Croquet League League match Friendly Friendly match Tournament Tournament
GC Golf Croquet League League Regional finals National National club competition    

10:00am start for matches and 9:30am start for tournaments unless otherwise indicated.


See also the Croquet Association Fixtures Calendar and the East Anglian Croquet Federation Diary.

 

CLUB DAYS

Apart from when it clashes with the match calendar above, Club members meet each week during the playing season as follows. Club members who turn up at the lawns on one of these occasions can usually expect to get a game. At other times it is generally advisable to plan a specific game with another club member in advance. A list of members' contact details is posted inside the club hut.

Mondays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Tuesdays GC Golf Croquet from 11:00
Wednesdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Thursdays
AC
court maintenance
Association Croquet from 16:00 (summer only)
Fridays GC Golf Croquet from 09:45
Saturdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00 (winter: from 11:00)
Sundays GC Golf Croquet from 12:00

 

COACHING

ACAn Association Croquet coaching course for beginners and potential new club members will be run by John Smallbone and John Bee on 4 consecutive Saturdays starting at 12:45pm on Saturday 6th April. Course entrants will also be welcome to stay on and play in the regular club afternoon AC session that follows it. The cost for non-members will be £15 per person, redeemable against club membership if they decide to take it up afterwards. All equipment will be provided by the club.

If you are interested in this course please contact John Bee on 01923 245631 or click on the link to send an email.

GCGolf Croquet: come to the Open Day on Sunday 14 April 10am - 3pm. Contact Ron Drew on 01923 679790 for more information, or just turn up if you are interested!

In addition to any more formal courses, free informal coaching for both Association and Golf Croquet is generally offered by the more experienced players on club days on a ad hoc basis to both existing club members and prospective new members who seek it.