In addition to Club days and casual games between club members, there are various activities including coaching, internal club competitions, and matches against other clubs.

 

2010 CALENDAR

printer-friendly version Calendars by year:

Date show hide Show/hide all Type Event / Opponents Venue / Result
hide JANUARY - MARCH
Thu 18 February (19:30)   Annual club dinner Metroplitan Police Sports Club, Aldenham Road, Bushey, WD23 2TR
Wed 17 March (19:30)   AGM Methodist Church Hall, New Road, Croxley Green, WD3 3EL
Fri 26 March   Watford lawns opened for the 2010 season  
hide APRIL
Thu 8 April (11:00) ACTournament AC One-Ball Tournament Winner: Geoff Johnson
Sun 18 April GC Golf Croquet Beginners/Improvers Course  
hide MAY
Sat 1 May ACLeague Northampton Away   DREW 3-3
Sat 1 May GCFriendly Ealing Away   WON 9-3
Mon 10 May GCTournament Open GC B-Level Tournament Winner: Jane Collier
Thu 13 May ACFriendly Letchworth Home   WON 5-3
Sat 15 May ACFriendly Hampstead Heath Home   LOST 4-5
Mon 17 May GCFriendly Leighton Linslade Home   WON 11-5
Sat 22 May (14:00) Tournament Gymkhana Winners: Geoff Johnson,
Steve Dennis
Mon 24 May GCLeague Stony Stratford (Handicap) Home   WON 12-6
Thu 27 May ACLeague Enfield Home   WON 5-1
Fri 28 May (16:30) GC Private event  
hide JUNE
Fri 4 June GCLeague Leighton Linslade 'A' (Handicap) Away   LOST 7-11
Sat 5 June ACFriendly Cambridge University Home   WON 8-0
Mon 7 June GCTournament GC Centre Stage Tournament Winner: Geoff Johnson
Thu 10 June GCNational Kingston Maurward Home   WON 4-3
Sat 12 June ACNational Surbiton Home   WON 5-2
Tue 22 June GCTournament GC Grass Roots Tournament Winner: Robert Archer
Sun 27 June ACLeague Wrest Park Away   LOST 2-4
Mon 28 June GCLeague Letchworth (Handicap) Home   LOST 8-10
hide JULY
Mon 5 July GCFriendly High Wycombe Home   WON 10-6
Wed 7 July (18:00) GC Private event  
Mon 12 July GCNational Sussex County Away   LOST 3-4
Wed 14 July ACLeague Letchworth Home   LOST 1-5
Thu 22 July-Mon 26 July ACFriendly AC South West Tour
Away Matches:W:3, D:1, L:1
Games:W:25, L:19
Fri 23 July GCLeague Leighton Linslade 'B' (Handicap) Away   WON 15-3
Wed 28 July ACNational Roehampton Home   WON 5-2
hide AUGUST
Sat 7 August GCTournament Grass Roots Golf Croquet Regional Final  
Tue 10 August GCLeague Northampton (Handicap) Away   LOST 7-11
Fri 13 August GCFriendly High Wycombe Away   WON 5-4
Sat 14 August ACFriendly Phyllis Court Home   Cancelled
Mon 16 August GCFriendly Letchworth Home   WON 12-4
Fri 20 August GCFriendly Leighton Linslade Away   DREW 8-8
Mon 23 August ACLeague St. Aldreth Away   WON 4-0
Thu 26 August GCLeague Wrest Park (Handicap) Home   WON 13-5
hide SEPTEMBER
Thu 2 September ACFriendly Lea Valley U3A Home
Sat 11 September ACNational Parsons Green Home   LOST 3-4
Mon 13 September GCFriendly Phyllis Court Away   LOST 6-10
Sun 26 September GCTournament Golf Croquet Fun Day  
hide OCTOBER - DECEMBER
Fri 1 October   Watford lawns closed for the winter  
Key to symbols:
AC Association Croquet League League match Friendly Friendly match Tournament Tournament
GC Golf Croquet League League Regional finals National National club competition    

10:00am start for matches and 9:30am start for tournaments unless otherwise indicated.


See also the Croquet Association Fixtures Calendar and the East Anglian Croquet Federation Diary.

 

CLUB DAYS

Apart from when it clashes with the match calendar above, Club members meet each week during the playing season as follows. Club members who turn up at the lawns on one of these occasions can usually expect to get a game. At other times it is generally advisable to plan a specific game with another club member in advance. A list of members' contact details is posted inside the club hut.

Mondays   free
Tuesdays GC Golf Croquet from 11:15
Wednesdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00
Thursdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00
Fridays GC Golf Croquet from 10:00
Saturdays AC Association Croquet from 14:00
Sundays GC Golf Croquet from 14:00

 

COACHING

ACNo formal courses, but plenty of ad hoc advice available from club members!

GCThere will be a Golf Croquet Beginners/Improvers Course held on Sunday 18 April.

 

In addition to the more formal courses, free informal coaching for both Association and Golf Croquet is generally offered by the more experienced players on club days on a ad hoc basis to both existing club members and prospective new members who seek it.